Home » Architecture Galore, Culture and Heritage

Miss Iloilo Dinagyang 2012: A Night of Genuine Ilongga Grace and Beauty

Submitted by on January 19, 2012 – 8:46 pm6 Comments

Miss Iloilo DinagyangYesterday night, Iloilo City witnessed the beauty and grace of her Ilonggas through the coronation of Miss Iloilo Dinagyang 2012. Miss Iloilo Dinagyang is an annual event which selects the city’s representative on the Aliwan Festival in Manila this coming April. This year’s event was organized by ABS-CBN Iloilo and headed by Alta Moda’s Alex Gonzales Soncio.

Candidates were selected late last year and had a busy schedule packed with pre-pageant activities leading to the coronation night. Some of these activities include swimsuit, talent, and festival costume competitions, outreach programs and TV guestings. The coronation night was held at the Central Philippine University’s Gymnasium and was attended by the city’s government officials and business elite, and more than a thousand spectators.

Without further ado, let me share with you the highlights of yesterday’s pageant:

An hour after arriving at the venue, the whole gym is already full of people. The stage was erected at the center of the gym and is simply decorated. Organizers and media personalities are converging in the center for remaining preparations. Here’s a picture of the crowns and scepter to be used in the coronation of the winners:

Miss Iloilo Dinagyang Crown

Mayor Mabilog

Mayor Jed Patrick Mabilog officially started the program with welcoming messages to the guests and judges of the competition. Beauty reigns in that warm Ilonggo night as our country’s internationally renowned personalities such as Ms. Ma. Isabel Lopez (Binibining Pilipinas Universe 1982), Ms. Evangeline Pascual (Miss World 1st Runner-Up 1973), Miss Shamcey Supsup (2011 Ms Universe 3rd Runner-up), and Ms. Gloria Diaz (Miss Universe 1969) attended the pageant as jurors.


Invocation followed the remarks of the Mayor.



A patriotic stance by the Pan-ay Ati Warriors during the singing of the National Anthem which was followed by the Iloilo City Hymn.


The final walk and speech of reigning Miss Iloilo Dinagyang 2011, Samantha Marie Montealegre Amparo, was solemn. She gave thanks to the people of Iloilo City for being given the opportunity to represent the metro in different events and functions.

St La Salle Pep Squad

The opening production number – a cheer leading performance by Oton National High School Pep Squad. This was followed by an intense ati warrior dance from the members of Tribu Pan-ay.

Tribu Pan-ay

production by candidates

Karla Dawn Yaneza, Janine Jacar, and Charmaine Grace Deatras

Candidates production

Shane Ann Ballejo, Rosario Jabagat, and Liwayway Bernardo

The ten beautiful candidates of Miss Iloilo Dinagyang 2012 entered the stage in ati costumes, danced in the exotic tribe rhythm and they themselves impressed the crowd in hitting the drums. The opening was followed by a message from Iloilo’s pride Alex Gonzales Soncio.

Parade and Presentation of Candidates:

Ramped in the stage in their swimsuit attire (a pre-pageant swimsuit competition was held weeks before and had bearing on the scores of the candidates in the pageant night).

Candidate No. 5, Kyle, won Miss Silka Award (picture below). Candidate No. 10 – Karla won the Most Photogenic Award. Other Special Awards followed such as Ms. AirPhil, Ms. Casino-Fem, etc.

Miss Silka

Candidates modeled in the stage in their casual attire:

Casual Wear

A heart stopping exhibition performed by Pilipinas Got Talent finalist, Synergy:

Synergy PGT

Pinoy Got Talent Synergy

The ladies in their beautiful evening gown designed by no other than Alex G. Soncio:

Liwayway Bernardo

Liwayway Bernardo

Rosario Jabagat

Rosario Jabagat

Claudine Marie Salmingo

Claudine Marie Salmingo

Eiseley Kyle Pragados

Eiseley Kyle Pragados

Angeli Orada

Angeli Orada

Charmaine Grace Deatras

Charmaine Grace Deatras

Karla Yaneza

Karla Yaneza

The Question and Answer Portion wherein candidates picked prepared questions. One of the candidates answered being “seloso” is one quality of a man that she cannot tolerate. Another answer, this one by Ms. Sham, is that if given the chance to turn back time, she’ll go back to the time when her father was falling in love with her mother, and tell him that if her mum was a great mother, she’ll make a fine wife as well.



At the middle of this portion, Ms. Kyle Pragados lost consciousness and fell on the floor. She was then brought down the stage and later rushed to a hospital. She was conscious and doing well after.

The candidates were serenaded by a Kapamilya star, Franco Daza.

Franco Daza

The final three were announced then and were asked the grand question, “What makes Dinagyang the best tourism event in the Philippines?”


Finally, the winners were announced. Candidate No. 10 – Karla  Dawn Yaneza won as 2nd Runner-Up. A tense moment ensued as the 1st Runner-up was announced. After the coronation of Ms. Angeli Orada as 1st Runner-up, Charmaine Grace Deatras,  a CPU business management student, was proclaimed the Miss Iloilo Dinagyang 2012.

Miss Iloilo Dinagyang 2012 Shane

Ms Gloria Diaz fixing the crown to the Miss Iloilo Dinagyang 2012, Charmaine Grace Deatras, as Mayor Jed Mabilog and Vice Mayor Joe Espinosa III watched.

Shamcey Supsup

Posing with the winner with Samantha Amparo (left), Shamcey Supsup (right),and the event's hosts

Now that’s the highlights of the world-class production of Miss Iloilo Dinagyang 2012. See you all again in our search next year, 2013!

Tags: , ,


Leave a comment!

Add your comment below, or trackback from your own site. You can also subscribe to these comments via RSS.

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

You can use these tags:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

This is a Gravatar-enabled weblog. To get your own globally-recognized-avatar, please register at Gravatar.